updated on 7/3/2017
New Album!

Nothin' Fancy To Host 17th Annual Festival
Fiddler Chris Sexton here reporting on site:

Preparations are already underway for the 17th Annual Nothin' Fancy Bluegrass Festival at Glen Maury Park in Buena Vista, VA! The music starts on Thursday, September 21 and runs through the evening of September 23, and on Wednesday the festivities will kick off with a golf cart poker run and a corn hole tournament before a potluck supper and your hosts performing a few songs to kick off the festival on a high note. It will also be an opportunity to pick up the newest release from Nothin' Fancy, "It's a Good Feeling," which will be released nationally by Mountain Fever Records on September 22.

It's not too late to join in the fun! Come one, come all. Hope to see you here!

Keeping Up With Nothin' Fancy
The last few months have seen a lot of activity from Nothin' Fancy on the road, and there is just as much activity behind the scenes as well.

First, NF festival coordinator Robyn Wines has finished her chemotherapy treatments for breast cancer and awaits surgery scheduled for June 28. Thoughts and prayers go out to her and to her husband Willie, who is the loyal and incredible man who's been behind the wheel of the NF tourbus for almost a decade. Willie and Robyn work tirelessly for Nothin' Fancy, and during even the worst parts of the treatments, Robyn did not back down! Robyn and Willie together have been the face of courage during these last months, and the men of the band are truly blessed to have them both in our lives.

Second, Nothin' Fancy is pleased to finally announce that James Cox has accepted the job of playing the bass with Nothin' Fancy. James, the younger brother of guitarist Caleb Cox, has already been winning crowds over with his confidently solid playing, which belies his youth in relation to his bandmates. Keith Arneson, the 24-year-veteran of the U.S. Navy Band, described James' playing as "like a clock," and his quiet stage demeanor is a sweet contrast to the irresistible toe-tapping boom of the bass in his hands. Come out to a show for an opportunity to catch up with us and meet James "Cool Cat" Cox!

Finally and most recently, Ryan Frankhouser has been hired to work in the booking agent position for NF. No stranger to the stage himself as a front man with the highly successful Pennsylvania-based bluegrass band Remington Ryde, Ryan is a dedicated and persuasive hard worker who is also friends to fans, musicians, promoters, and festival coordinators alike. Ryan is both ambitious and enthusiastic, and his new booking agency, Grass Is Blue Entertainment, represents his own group, NF, and the Darrell Webb Band. He sent thanks in a public statement to Randy Graham "for all of his support and his blessing" after it was confirmed Ryan had accepted the offer to work with NF. He has already added bookings in very short order to the NF calendar, and we have high hopes that Nothin' Fancy will be working harder and more visible in the bluegrass circuit in the upcoming seasons thanks to Ryan Frankhouser and Grass Is Blue Entertainment!

That was a lot of news! Keep in mind that you can also follow us on Facebook and on Twitter. Hope to see you at a festival soon!

Mountain Fever Records Releases Brand New Music from Nothin' Fancy
"Where I Came From" is Available To Radio Today!

New Album - Where I Came From Releases October 7th

WILLIS, Va. (September 23, 2016) – Mountain Fever Records is proud to announce the release of brand new music from Nothin' Fancy. "Where I Came From" is available to radio today and is the title track of a new album due for release October 7th.

Where I Came From is Nothin' Fancy's sophomore album for Mountain Fever Records since signing with the Virginia-based label in 2015. Nothin' Fancy, also based in Virginia, is comprised of Mike Andes on mandolin, Mitchell Davis on banjo, Chris Sexton on fiddle, Tony Shorter on bass and Caleb Cox on guitar. Together, the band hosts one of the most successful fall bluegrass festivals in the country annually, drawing thousands to Buena Vista located in the Shenandoah Valley region of the state. With this year's festival happening September 22nd through 25th, it only made sense for the band to introduce an audience of their most loyal fans to their new single, touting their love for their home-state.

"Mike Andes writes much of the material for Nothin' Fancy including 'Where I Came From,'" stated Mark Hodges of Mountain Fever Records. "In the song, the singer laments of missing his home in Virginia and longing to return. When it became clear that would be the title of the album, it made sense to launch the title track as the first single and release it to radio the same week as the Nothin' Fancy Bluegrass Festival. Some of the band's most loyal fans travel from all over the country to join the band for this event each year so it was just a natural fit."

"Where I Came From" is the first single from the band's second album for Mountain Fever Records and radio programmers may download the single via AirPlayDirect at Consumers may download the first single and preorder the album here - Where I Came From will be released everywhere great music is sold on October 7th. For more about Nothin' Fancy and the Nothin' Fancy Bluegrass Festival, visit For more about Mountain Fever Records, visit

site credits:
digital portraits by Buster Sexton
site design by Niño Consulting
records powered by
Arthur Conner Fiddles
GHS Strings
Michael Andes Mandolins
Michael Andes Violins
Stelling Banjos
EMORE Leather Company